Using the Mass Close Work Order Feature
Many times when using Mainsaver, the need or desire arises to close multiple work orders without having to do so one at a time. Mainsaver provides a feature for this option called the Mass Close Work Order feature. This tech tip provides information on using this feature.
To use the Mass Close Work Order feature, first query a list of work orders to be closed in a work order Table View screen. Once the work orders are displayed, navigate to File > Mass Close Work Order. (Note: you must have access to this feature as provided in System Security of Mainsaver). Once the Mass Work Order Close feature is chosen, a pop up will appear as given below.
This function references the first work order listed in the Table View list. The user has the option to input corrective action as well as specify action and cause codes. Once entered (if desired) the user can choose to Close the work order by clicking on the OK button, or skip over the work order (Skip button) and move on to the next work order in the list. This process can be repeated by clicking on OK or Skip until all work orders in the list have been processed
If the user knows and is sure that ALL work orders in the list are to be closed, he can opt to check the box “This information applies to all selected work orders”. If this check box is selected and the user then clicks OK, all work orders given in the Table View list will systematically be Closed.
Warning: Before using Mass Close Work Orders with the check box selected, be sure the Table View contains ONLY work orders that will be closed, as all work orders in the Table View listing will be closed and there is no method for “Mass Re-opening”.
A list of work orders can be quickly closed without having to do so one at a time.